Abolition 2000 is a worldwide network working for a global treaty to eliminate nuclear weapons.

1st July 2008 International Conference marking 40th anniversary NPT at the European Parliament, Brussels



EP section of PNND (Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament), Belgian PNND, Mayors for Peace, Abolition 2000 Europe, Abolition 2000 Belgium, International Physicians for Prevention of Nuclear War, Greenpeace and CNAPD

Please find here more details of the "Parliamentary endorsement of the Nuclear Weapons Convention".

H.E. the Ambassador of Costa Rica has been invited as a guest. Costa Rica submitted the Nuclear Weapons Convention at the UN General Assembly in December 2007

Conference Room PHS 5B001

9.00 Introduction:
Girts Kristovskis, Member European Parliament UEN & Vice-chair SEDE (Latvia)
Dr. Rebecca Johnson, Executive Director, The Acronym Institute for Disarmament Diplomacy (UK).

9:30 French and British nuclear policies and EU- security:
Glyn Ford, Member European Parliament PSE (UK)
Robert Ranquet, Deputy Director, Policy and Strategic Affairs, Ministry of Defence (F)
Pierre Villard, President Mouvement de la Paix (F)

10.30 Coffee break.

11.00 US nuclear weapons in EU:
Annemie Neyts, Member European Parliament ALDE (Belgium)
Spokesperson NATO (tbc).
Theo Kelchtermans, Mayor Peer on whose territory US nuclear weapons are deployed (B)
Professor David Webb, Vice-Chair Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament (UK)

12.00 Signing ceremony in support of Nuclear Weapons Convention with photo-opportunity
by Members European Parliament

14.00: NATO preventive strike strategy.
Ana Gomes, Member European Parliament PES & Vice-chair SEDE (Portugal)
Spokesperson NATO (tbc)
Martin Butcher, Initiator Open Letter Congress (UK)

15.00: Modernisation of Russian nuclear arsenals and responds to NMD project:
Andre Brie (Germany) Member European Parliament GUE.
Dmitry Rogozin, Russian ambassador to NATO (tbc)
Jan Tamas, spokesperson Europe for Peace (CZ).

16.00 Coffee break

16.15 Towards Nuclear Disarmament:
Caroline Lucas, Member European Parliament Greens (UK)
Akiba Tadatoshi, Mayor Hiroshima & President Mayors for Peace (video message).
Patrik Vankrunkelsven, Senator & Mayors for Peace 2020 Vision. (B)

17.15 Closing remarks:
Angelika Beer, Member European Parliament Greens, Co-chair PNND (Germany)

Conference language is English *** Info: 0495-28 02 59

See also: Round table on Nuclear Weapons Convention at the EP, 30th June